This is a mistake

The tears welled up in my eyes.

“Are you sure this is what you want? Is there no way we can fix it?” I asked, not caring how desperate I sounded.

After a long pause he said, “It’d be unfair for me to ask you to be with me. I do love you, I’m just not in love with you.”

I was so confused. He had come out of the closet to all his family for me. I had met his friends and family and got along with all of them. People stay with each other their whole lives without being “in love”… even people in arranged marriages love each other.

“This is a mistake” I said, “Is there no way we can fix this? I need to know! We have so much in common. We’ve made so many memories. Things were so good… there must be some way we can fix this?”

“There is no way”, he responded.

Mistake

Leave a Reply

